Seven Trackzor

August 20, 2006

I’m not going to post the instructions in that I basically have to post seven songs that I’m really into as of now. Just like the Friday Fives (and I’ll get back to them eventually, as work currently gives me no time for meandering anymore) I’ll be posting them like a countdown.

5. “Shrine to Fast Goodbyes” – Emily Haines

I actually woke up with this song in my head this morning. The version that I have on my computer is a bootleg copy from one of Emily’s solo shows. Normally I find Emily’s music to sound quite drab and rigid – and this is honestly in a good way – but this one song has a more upbeat sound to it. Really, I’d consider it a ballad of sorts, but I really do love the lyrics she’s penned.

4. “It’s Been A While Since I Was Your Man” – Matthew Good

Matt doesn’t sing too often about relationship-related issues, but really, anything that comes from him is just as good. I suppose the best part about it, though, is that when he does write about relationships, they’re more than just sad and hopeless. They’re written to supreme perfection, and this particular song is really one of my favorites from White Light Rock & Roll Review.

3. “Disco Blackout” – controller.controller

I find that controller.controller is one of those bands that takes a while to actually get into. Because I had some tracks lingering around, though, I managed to play them enough times to get hooked to the riffs. This song is from their first EP, titled History, and is really my favorite track from it. It’s fast and you can dance to it, and Nirmala’s voice isn’t girlish or hard; it’s just supreme and edgy. I think that’s really all you need.

2. “Work On You” – MSTRKRFT

Although MSTRKRFT is only half the master copy of DFA1979, what Jesse Keeler and his new buddy, Al P., have created is really quite intriguing. This is the opening track to their first album for the dance community, The Looks, and is my absolute favorite MSTRKRFT song. The beats are strong and they go through the whole song. Plus it’s got that whole Speak & Spell vibe to it, enhanced. It’s no “Satisfaction”, folks.

1. “Baby Blues” – The Stills

Honestly, I can’t listen to Without Feathers without listening to this song six or seven times. Although this song does hold a lot of significant meaning to me, I really think that the sole reason that I fell in love with it was because of Emily Haines had the vocals backed to a T. The lyrics, as well, are also perfect in that even I would think about quoting them in a homemade macaroni card.

One Response to “Seven Trackzor”

  1. Jane Goody said

    If you want to see a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this article for 4/5. Decent info, but I have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed parts. Thank you, anyway!

Leave a comment